What packages do you use for data processing?

• 19 December 2022
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

What software/packages do people use to access/use/process/visualize Planet data?

I have done most of my processing either in QGIS, or in python, where I have found rioxarray to be a very useful python package for just about all of the above, but I am still learning all the packages out there that could be useful.

What other python packages do you use and why? I am also interested in knowing if people use R (and if so, which libraries are most helpful). 

Does anybody use Google Earth Engine? Any tips?

I recently learned about the RSAGA library, but don’t know anything about it...does this work with planet data?

(I also saw this post on datacubes, but am really interested in seeing what people are using for planet data at all, whether it requires large time-series datasets or not!)

6 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

@Riley Balikian Hi..I’m still fairly new to using Planet data and use it mostly for teaching and some research. I noticed a lot of persons here like yourself use Python and some GEE. I use ArcGIS Pro for most of my applications.

Userlevel 5
Badge +4

What software/packages do people use to access/use/process/visualize Planet data?

I have done most of my processing either in QGIS, or in python, where I have found rioxarray to be a very useful python package for just about all of the above, but I am still learning all the packages out there that could be useful.

What other python packages do you use and why? I am also interested in knowing if people use R (and if so, which libraries are most helpful). 

I recently learned about the RSAGA library, but don’t know anything about it...does this work with planet data?

(I also saw this post on datacubes, but am really interested in seeing what people are using for planet data at all, whether it requires large time-series datasets or not!)

Hi,