Solved

Beginner Help: Converting to Surface Temperature

• 20 February 2023
  • 4 replies

Badge +2

Hi all, 

I am a PhD student hoping to use Planet data in one of my projects.  While I have used ArcGIS in the past, I have not worked with satellite-based data before, so a lot of the terminology and data are new to me.  Given that, please forgive me for what is likely a very basic set of questions. 

I am interested in determining the surface temperature of various lakes over time.  Currently, it is my understanding that I should be able to download surface reflectance images and then convert these to surface temperature.  I have found a tutorial on how to do that with Landsat imagery, but I am working with small alpine lakes, and would, thus, like to work with the imagery that Planet has to offer for improved resolution and temporal replication.  At this stage, I find that I am struggling a bit with even knowing what to ‘google’ for help, so any advice or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.  

1. How should I decide which satellites to use (e.g., Dove R, Super Dove, etc.) ?  Where can I find this kind of information?
  2. From there, how do I convert those images to surface temperature?  I mostly work in R, but have introductory-level experience in Python and I would like to become better in Python - so I’m open to any thoughts and suggestions here.
  3. If anyone could suggest some links/documents for an introduction to these topics, I would greatly appreciate it!

Again, I’m sorry for these rudimentary questions.  As I mentioned, I’m new to the world of spatial data, but it is something that I am becoming really interested in and would like to be much better versed in it.  Right now, I just feel like I hardly know where to begin.

Thank you in advance, 

Gaby

icon

Best answer by yongjun.song 21 February 2023, 03:27

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +3

Hi, Gabrielle