International Women's Day Spotlight

International Women's Day Spotlight
Userlevel 7
Badge +13

1.Could you please briefly introduce yourself?

I am Dr. Flávia and started my career in 2007 at the National Institute for Space Research in Brazil. From this moment on, I am giving my best to accomplish and impact the geospatial sector in many ways. I learned and added value in important projects and initiatives in the field of environmental protection and climate change in tropical biomes, mainly in the Amazon and Savanna, such as the Soy Moratorium. Nowadays, I am a Program Manager of Forest and Land Use at Planet. My main experience lies in managing projects, products and programs in forestry (carbon/REDD+) and land use change using optical and SAR data.

I am also an active member of initiatives such as Ladies of Landsat (Lead Organizer), Women in Copernicus, RSATE (Remote Sensing for Tropical Ecosystems) that work towards a more inclusive and diverse environment in the geospatial sector. Through my large network of contacts, I connect companies and institutions in Europe with local communities in Brazil for greater development, collaboration and inclusion in the geospatial sector. 

2. When did you start to work at Planet and in which department are you working?

I started working at Planet in August last year in the IMPACT dream team as a Program Manager of Forest and Land Use. Planet has always been a company that I have greatly admired for its mission and values! A company that plays an important role in the fight against climate change, it is a company that also fights for more diversity and inclusion of underrepresented groups.Today I am very happy to work with a dream manager and team!

3. Can you explain to us what the Ladies of Landsat (LoL) is? What is the purpose of it? How can people sign up?